Why does the media only care about my startup raising money? What about my more important news?

The answer lies in the unfortunate unintended consequences of business news reporting and there’s no easy fix

Alan Jones
4 min readJul 10, 2020
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Simon Griffiths is a great bloke, and his company Who Gives A Crap does great things. In Australia, the UK, Europe and the USA they sell great toilet paper online and donate a chunk of proceeds to fund hygiene and sanitation work in communities in need. They reckon that every roll they sell funds access to a toilet for a week. I use and recommend Who Gives A Crap toilet paper and their packaging and customer relationship copywriting makes me laugh and smile every time. Try it, you’ll thank me. But I digress.

This week the company announced they’d donated a record AUD5.85M to charity as a result of the increased sales of toilet paper created by the pandemic lockdown. There was one bummer though…

This frustrated Simon, and it frustrates many startup founders I know: how come raising investment…

--

--

Alan Jones

I’m a coach for founders, partner at M8 Ventures, angel investor. Earlier: founder, early Yahoo product manager, tech reporter. Latest: disrupt.radio